Injustice for all

I am angry.

I am angry that innocent people are turned away, locked up, and shot down every day.

I am angry that our justice system denies justice to those who ask nothing more than a fair, unbiased trial.

I am angry that bad people are allowed to run our country, while good people are forced to be silent. I am angry that cruel, injust, greedy, heartless people are allowed to rig the system in their favor. I am angry that when caring, innocent people speak up, at best they get ignored; at worst they get hurt or killed.

I am sad.

I am sad that people have heard my cries for help, and chose to do nothing.

I am sad that my voice has not been heard, not because I have not spoken loudly enough, but because I have not been deemed “worthy” of listening to.

I am sad that people are turned away,  locked up, shot down, shoved aside, brushed off, and ignored because they are not white enough, rich enough, or old enough to be permitted to join the ranks of our elite. I am sad that our justice system, our government, our police, our economy, and our society is rigged against the colored, the poor, and the young. I am sad that even when we are told that all of us have the chance to make our voices heard, many are turned away anyway, because the powers-that-be – that is, the people who make election laws – have decided people must be able to jump through hoops to cast their ballot. I am sad that people must choose between a paycheck and their families. I am sad that children do not have access to the best education possible.

I am afraid.

I am afraid that it will only get worse.

I am afraid that no matter what actions are taken, by myself or anyone else, it will not change.

I am afraid that change will come – at the cost of lives and our environment. I am afraid that things can only get worse. I am afraid things must get worse before they can get better. I am afraid that people I care about will be caught in the crossfire. I am afraid that our futures will be scary and depressing. I am afraid that our bonds of love and friendship will break over disagreements over the problems we face. I am afraid that our race – the human race – cannot survive whatever is to come.

Ought I have faith in our ability to heal the disease of hate and indifference festering in our society? Or should I simply shut myself away in an effort towards self-protection?

Presenting

About ecosciencegirl

Professionally, I am a graduate student at The Evergreen State College in their Master's of Environmental Studies program, with a Bachelor's of Science from Southern Oregon University in Environmental Studies and Biology. I am a science instructor for GHF Online (Gifted Homeschoolers Forum) and I volunteer at the WET Center, a science museum in Olympia, WA. Personally, I am a young adult who is fascinated with the environment, loves to read and write, and adores all animals (especially cats). In general, I do a lot of climate change activism, and I'm passionate about social and environmental justice. Someday I would like to be a teacher, field researcher, and/or policy maker. If possible, I would also like to save the world from humanity.
This entry was posted in Justice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Injustice for all

  1. There’s no easy answer about activism versus self protection. History says that Martin Luthor King Junior was an amazing person and that he made a difference, but he paid the ultimate price for it, and many smaller ones along the way. Could he have protected himself better if he’d stayed quiet? Probably. I, admittedly, am glad he didn’t. I’m grateful for his sacrifice. However, the idea of you sacrificing yourself in the same way ties a knot in my stomach. Also, only you can know if you’re a leader or a supporter — probably that makes a big difference too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

