New Year, New Hope

2014 has been quite the year. We have seen article after article describing the good (and the bad) that has happened. Looking forward, here are some things I want to see happen.

NewYear

I want an international treaty on climate change, with commitments to dramatic reductions in emissions in a relatively short period of time. With enough pressure from people around the world, we can do it. We saw a climate march of more than 400,000 people in New York City in 2014; let’s see millions raise their voices in favor of climate action in 2015. There will be a meeting in Paris. Let’s turn up the heat on our politicians.

I want to never hear “legitimate rape” used again. Women are much more than babymakers and f–ktoys. We are strong; we are smart; we are compassionate; we are capable. We are not better than men; we are their equals. Accepting this truth is what it means to be a feminist. Join me in embracing the reality of this “f-word” and advocate for women’s rights to birth control, abortion, equal pay, equal rights, and equal education around the world.

I want President Obama to ignore the fustercluck that is our U.S. Congress, and use executive orders to create changes that will benefit all of the American people. Tell him you support him here.

I want to see a reform of our police system, because no one should be able to hurt another person without consequences.

I want gay marriage to be legal in all fifty states. Why should commitment be limited to straight couples? Taking this a step further, I want LGBTIAAQQP people to feel safe, loved, and valued. I want the bullying and the disowning and the suicides and the homicides to stop. Stand up to your discriminatory friends and family. Be an ally. Help us stop this damage to our young people.

I want gun control, because a middle-aged white guy in camo does not constitute a well-regulated militia, nor does a five-year-old who accidentally shot his sister.

I want the glorification of weapons and violence to stop, and the beautification of love to begin, so that men and women alike may feel more capable of holding hands than guns.

I also want unlimited chocolate and to survive my grad school experience with what little sanity I still possess intact, but let’s not get too crazy here.

What do YOU hope will happen in 2015?

About ecosciencegirl

Professionally, I am a graduate student at The Evergreen State College in their Master's of Environmental Studies program, with a Bachelor's of Science from Southern Oregon University in Environmental Studies and Biology. I am a science instructor for GHF Online (Gifted Homeschoolers Forum) and I volunteer at the WET Center, a science museum in Olympia, WA. Personally, I am a young adult who is fascinated with the environment, loves to read and write, and adores all animals (especially cats). In general, I do a lot of climate change activism, and I'm passionate about social and environmental justice. Someday I would like to be a teacher, field researcher, and/or policy maker. If possible, I would also like to save the world from humanity.
This entry was posted in Justice, Science and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

