GHF Online: Environmental Science in U.S. History

You may have heard that I’m teaching a class for GHF Online next semester. The rumors are true! I will be teaching Environmental Science in U.S. History, aimed at 5th to 9th grades academically (I don’t care how old your kid is). We’ll look at environmental science through the lenses of United States history, from the early 1600s onward, including both native and colonial perspectives.

We will explore these events over the course of fifteen weeks. Each week will be devoted to a different type of environmental science, using examples from our history. Students will read short articles or book excerpts each week, write a paragraph reflection on the week’s topic (due Saturday nights), and give a creative presentation at the end of the term. The goal of the course is to make American history and the environment fun and interesting, and to engage kids in thinking about how our current world is shaped by the past.

GHFOpic

I was homeschooled and did early college as a twice-exceptional teenager, so I can relate to the asynchronies of many GHFO students. I graduated cum laude with my Bachelor’s in June of 2014, in Environmental Studies and Biology. Currently, I am a Master’s student in Environmental Studies at The Evergreen State College. History and science have always been two of my favorite subjects, and I find the ways the two influence each other fascinating – and I think other kids will, too.

I hope you consider this class for your child. Only a few spots left, so sign up now! You can also check out other classes and read more about this class.

About ecosciencegirl

Professionally, I am a graduate student at The Evergreen State College in their Master's of Environmental Studies program, with a Bachelor's of Science from Southern Oregon University in Environmental Studies and Biology. I am a science instructor for GHF Online (Gifted Homeschoolers Forum) and I volunteer at the WET Center, a science museum in Olympia, WA. Personally, I am a young adult who is fascinated with the environment, loves to read and write, and adores all animals (especially cats). In general, I do a lot of climate change activism, and I'm passionate about social and environmental justice. Someday I would like to be a teacher, field researcher, and/or policy maker. If possible, I would also like to save the world from humanity.
This entry was posted in Autism, Education, Gifted and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

