[Book Review] Writing Your Own Script: A Parent’s Role in the Gifted Child’s Social Development

Writing Your Own Script, by Corin Barsily Goodwin and Mika Gustavson, MFT (co-authors of Making The Choice: When Typical School Doesn’t Fit Your Atypical Child), is the book my family wishes we had when I was little. Incidentally, my mother is one of the authors and my brother and I are carefully disguised in the anecdotes. It provides the information parents need to understand their child’s social struggles, and the tools to help them through it.

As evidenced by the title, this book is aimed at parents, which I am not (although I am now a teacher. However, it was a beneficial read for me in several ways anyway. Perhaps the most important part was in the first chapter, where the authors outline the characteristics of gifted and twice-exceptional kids and how they can affect social interactions. Although I had seen the information before, the manner in which Writing Your Own Script presented it, and the accompanying explanations, was entirely new. It felt like a key had turned for me – so THAT’S why I never quite fit in! Not only did I finally understand where things were going wrong, but it helped me figure out why, and what I could and couldn’t do to fix it.

Reading Writing Your Own Script was also comforting: it would not have been written if there was not a need for such a book, and if there is a need, and I can relate to it so well, then there must be other people like me. While this is something my mother has been telling me for a long time, it is one thing to hear it and another to have Adam Smith’s free market hypothesis prove it. That’s how it works in my world, anyway.

Finally, it was good to read about myself and know that my kidsonstageexperiences, however they made me feel at the time, are being used to help other kids who are like I was. It makes my struggles worth it to know that they will help make it easier for others.

Yes, this book is aimed at parents, and if you have a neuro-atypical child I strongly encourage you to read it. But I would recommend that gifted and 2e teenagers and young adults explore it as well, especially if you have been bullied, ostracized, or just had trouble finding friends – perhaps skip over the parent-specific portions, but learn what makes you different in a social context and understand what was happening when you were younger (or continues to happen now).

About ecosciencegirl

Professionally, I am a graduate student at The Evergreen State College in their Master's of Environmental Studies program, with a Bachelor's of Science from Southern Oregon University in Environmental Studies and Biology. I am a science instructor for GHF Online (Gifted Homeschoolers Forum) and I volunteer at the WET Center, a science museum in Olympia, WA. Personally, I am a young adult who is fascinated with the environment, loves to read and write, and adores all animals (especially cats). In general, I do a lot of climate change activism, and I'm passionate about social and environmental justice. Someday I would like to be a teacher, field researcher, and/or policy maker. If possible, I would also like to save the world from humanity.
This entry was posted in Autism, Education, Gifted, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [Book Review] Writing Your Own Script: A Parent’s Role in the Gifted Child’s Social Development

  1. byamtich says:

    One of the gifts of the book is a subtle selection of focus that guides all involved for increased self-responsibility. Just as the book says there are a lot of lists of characteristics of giftedness, but with differences, this book (can read in an hour) has the subtle differences that can change patterns. Both an introduction and a master course.

    Like

Leave a Reply

