Climate Reality Corps: Send me to Denver!

The Climate Reality Project, founded by former Vice President Al Gore, works to promote action on climate change worldwide through a variety of initiatives to crlclogopressure world leaders, help communities organize, and train leaders. Through the Climate Reality Leadership Corps, activists receive training in climate science, communication, and organizing. Attendees are added to a crlgrouplist of speakers from which other organizations can request presentations for events, and are given support to help bring about change at a local level. The next training is in Denver, Colorado, March 2-4… and I’ve been accepted for it!12019775_10154419935943475_4106408606014142449_n

I have earned a B.Sc. in biology and environmental studies and a Masters of Environmental Studies, and I’ve been a vocal climate change activist since I was 15. Attending this training will give me specialized credentials that will help me spread actual (not alternative) facts about climate change. At this time, in this political climate, these presentations are more important than ever.

Travel isn’t cheap, and while I’m not a spendthrift, I do have extra expenses: accommodations for severe food allergies on flights and while dining, and autism-friendly lodging. Can you help send me to Denver?

I’m trying to raise $1000: $200 for airfare, $450 for lodging (3 nights), $150 for food, $100 for miscellaneous expenses (transportation, baggage fees, etc).

If you want to contribute, you can donate here!

About ecosciencegirl

Professionally, I am a graduate student at The Evergreen State College in their Master's of Environmental Studies program, with a Bachelor's of Science from Southern Oregon University in Environmental Studies and Biology. I am a science instructor for GHF Online (Gifted Homeschoolers Forum) and I volunteer at the WET Center, a science museum in Olympia, WA. Personally, I am a young adult who is fascinated with the environment, loves to read and write, and adores all animals (especially cats). In general, I do a lot of climate change activism, and I'm passionate about social and environmental justice. Someday I would like to be a teacher, field researcher, and/or policy maker. If possible, I would also like to save the world from humanity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

